If you are worried about someone knowing you have visited a website to seek advice then there are a few different ways of removing this from your browser history and generally staying safe online.
All leading web browsers have a “private browsing” mode that, once enabled, stores nothing about your activity on your computer in that browsing window.
Internet Explorer: Go to ‘Safety’ – ‘Tools’ – ‘InPrivate Browsing’
Firefox: Click the menu button (three horizontal lines) and select ‘New Private Window’
Chrome: Click the menu button (three horizontal lines) and select ‘New Incognito Window’
The following videos give advice on private browsing on a mobile device.
Deleting browsing history
Internet browsers keep a record of all the web pages you visit. To delete your browsing history hold down the CTRL key and press the H key. Find the pages you want to delete, right click and choose ‘Delete’. If you delete the whole history, it will look suspicious so try to go onto other websites that your partner wouldn’t get angry about.
There are a few different things to remember when using email:
- If your partner has been threatening or abusive over email, you can print them off and save them as evidence of the abuse.
- If you start to send an email but don’t finish it, it will be saved to your drafts. If you are emailing a support agency for example, make sure you delete it from your drafts.
- If you do send an email, it will be in your ‘sent items’ folder. You can also delete what’s in here.
- When you do delete an email, it will get moved into the ‘deleted items’ folder. You can delete them permanently from this folder.
All of the above information may not completely hide your tracks. Some browsers have features that display recently visited sites. If you are unsure, try to use a different computer such as at a library, friend’s house or work.
Try to keep your passwords private on your phone, computer and emails so no one can access them but you. If you do log in to something, remember to log out when you have finished.